Monthly Archives: May 2011

East Side Home, Minnesota Building, James J. Hill House and Union Depot Receive 2011 Historic Preservation Awards

May 18, 2011

John Mannillo and Larry Millett among those honored at Saint Paul Heritage Preservation Commission Awards Ceremony

SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA (May 18, 2011) — The Saint Paul Heritage Preservation Commission and Saint Paul Chapter of the American Institute of Architects joined the city and community leaders to honor award recipients at the 21st Annual Heritage Preservation on May 17. Winners included Saint Paul Union Depot (Cultural Heritage Award), the James J. Hill House (Restoration Award), John Mannillo (Individual Award), Larry Millett (Individual Award), Giesen-Hauser Residence (Vote of Confidence Award), and the Minnesota Building (Adaptive Reuse Award).

“I love participating in this event every year,” said Saint Paul City Council President Kathy Lantry. “This special occasion reminds us to celebrate our city’s rich history and to recognize those individuals who have the vision and energy to preserve its great treasures.”

“The projects and award recipients demonstrate Saint Paul’s passion for preserving its history. All of those who work to promote preservation – whether they are award winners or not – deserve our thanks,” said John Manning, Chair, Heritage Preservation Commission.

John Mannillo is a second time honoree, his first was 20 years ago for his unwavering dedication and care for Saint Paul’s historic architecture. Architect Craig Rafferty said, “He is by all barometers of measurement the City of Saint Paul’s most enduring volunteer.”

Other award winners included factual and entertaining writer Larry Millett. He began writing about Saint Paul and historic preservation when he was an architecture critic for the Saint Paul Pioneer Press newspaper from 1985 to 2002. Millett continues to thoroughly research, write and publish books and articles about Saint Paul’s history and architecture.

Saint Paul was recently recognized as a “distinctive destination” by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.